Increasing clip speed causes weird issues

Hello,

I’m new to shotcut and am getting strange issues. I made one video that turned out great; part of that video required a timelapse - for these, I used shotcut’s speed property. I had a music track below the entire video which player really well for the whole duration.

Now, however, as I make a second video, I am doing something similar, except I’m getting the following weird issue.

1. If I speed the thing up to say 10x or 12x, all’s well
  2. If I speed up higher than that, a few things arise
    -The entire video speed is much faster for that clip (not the clip speed -> the actual video playing speed. The video plays normally until it reaches the timelapse clip, then suddenly the entire video is playing faster, i.e. the timeline marker is moving faster - so even though the video says for example “duration 30 seconds” in properties, in fact the clip only lasts about less than 10 seconds)
    -The music below the clip, which played just fine for the beginning non-timelapsed section of the video, also speeds up, because the speed of the entire video speeds up for that one clip.
    -Anything after this clip is played normally, i.e. the timeline cursor marker (what the heck is it called haha) slows down to a normal pace after the timelapsed clip completes.

I hope my question/issue makes sense, please if someone can help me with this I’d really appreciate it. I don’t understand why shotcut insists on suddenly speeding up the video. It’s definitely not just an editor bug - the exported video is also much faster than it should be in those timelapsed sections & the audio is also faster.

What version number of Shotcut are you using?

I downloaded it a few weeks ago. It says in my files that the version number is 19.12.16

A new version was just released a couple of days ago. Here is the link. Test on it to see if the issue still happens.