I think it would be better if it did not auto play

Hi, I’m new to using Shotcut but as a completely new user, I’d like to make a suggestion. When a clip is dragged into a new project, it auto plays for that first new clip. Given that a new user doesn’t know it auto plays or to adjust the volume on the player due to unfamiliarity and it’s set to full volume, I think it would be better if it did not auto play. That’s just my two cents. Thanks for creating the program.

shotcut_2020-12-11_13-38-47
Just mute the player before opening media or lower the volume.

There is already an option to turn it off in the list of Playlist options. Just press this button

and it will bring up this menu with the Play After Open option at the bottom.

Although for a brand new project, if you drag your very first video directly to the player it will always start playing but that’s to be expected. But after the very first video it will respect the option chosen above.

However, @shotcut I do think that for future new users Play After Open should be off by default. A lot of people don’t seem to like media playing automatically after bringing it in.

3 Likes

Thanks for the replies and tips. Yes DRM, I agree with that. I posted thinking that it might be helpful to other new users who just installed. I’m dragging a video onto the playlist following along with a tutorial on Youtube and didn’t expect auto play to start up the first video I pulled in on a new project.

I can do that, but I think there are 2 things here:

1. adding one or more files to the playlist of a new project
  2. double-click to open a playlist item in the player

Currently, the Playlist option Play After Open governs both because due to a technical issue Shotcut needs to open the first item if nothing is opened yet in the Source player, and that is an open action.

@C2V definitely wants #1 to be off (and probably by default or always). But what about #2?