How to simply trim a single clip

Hello all. i’m a total newbie with this stuff, but all i want to do is snip a short song from a 13 to 15 minute video, i don’t know the precise duration of the song but it’s short. I tried clicking on the scissors icon but it doesn’t make any difference. I see no bars or anything i’ve seen in the tutorials, just the video in a tiny little window,

Before this video editor i only had windows movie maker, which was simple to use and the version i had had lots of features than all the versions i’ve managed to download no longer have. I hope to make music videos using different footage eventually, but first things first.

Incidentally, it took Shotcut over thirty minutes to load, is this normal?

Thanks, The Cybertard.

You might want to take a look at the tutorials.
https://shotcut.org/tutorials/

This one will get you started with the basics.

Do you mean to trim a single clip to start it time A and end at time B? There is no need to use the Timeline:

1. Open the clip by dropping in the player area or using File > Open
  2. Drag the >| and |< triangle controls shown by the red arrows in my illustration below.
  3. Click Export on the main toolbar.
  4. Click Export File in the Export panel.
  5. Choose a folder and give your file a name.

Thanks, i’ve watched the videos and done a bit of reading, it’s all far too complex, simple steps aren’t made clear enough and also computer jargon goes over my head like a fighter jet. Thank you anyway.

Thanks very much, that suggestion almost worked but the video froze on shotcut so i didn’t get chance to trim the end of the song off, never mind try to export it.
My only conclusion is the video itself from YouTube is corrupted in some way, though as Cybertard in Chief i have no idea how or why this occurred (really wanted that song too haha).
Thanks again.

I did it! Well, nearly.