How to change image size/orientation

I’m new to video editing, and recently downloaded Shotcut for the first time (Windows 10). I have a video shot by someone else on a smartphone, in which the phone was at first held vertical, then rotated to horizontal partway through. I am attempting to rotate the second part of the clip so that you can watch the whole thing without tilting your head … and it seems like no matter what I do I cannot get an image that is wider than the original vertical shot.

I have attempted to use the size function in the Rotate filter, and also the Size and Position filter, and I have also tried exporting a version of the original 1080x1920 video in 1920x1920 format, using that as a new original, and then using the filters, but can’t seem to break the boundary of the original image width.

Any suggestions? Thanks.

Yeah. So. I had to deal with my first Portrait video recently. Grumble.

Short answer: you’ll need to choose “Video Mode->Custom->Add…” in the Settings menu and set it to 1920x1920.

Longer explanation – consider these three things:

1. Video Mode, found in the Settings menu, includes Resolution, Aspect ratio, & Framerate; this is the canvas you edit in.
  2. The resolution & aspect ratio of your clips, each have their own Resolution, Aspect ratio, & Framerate, and each of those attributes may be altered during editing.
  3. Export settings – will take the composited project and attempt to apply the Resolution, Aspect Ratio, and Framerate that you set here; in a lot of cases, you’ll want this to be set the same as the Video Mode.