Getting Started - MP4 compressed during import

Aloha. I am brand new to video editing. I’ve watched a few tutorials and then opened a video that I’d exported from my phone into a folder on my laptop. It copied sideways, and I was pleased that it rotated itself in Shotcut. However, even thought the sound is perfect from my personal folder, in Shotcut it’s rough. There was a message about converting it to editable format, which I did (to largest size), but that didn’t do anything. Can anyone help me to get started?

Thank you, in advance, for your help!

Hi @naomi32
By “rough”, do you mean that your video looks low quality in the preview window of Shotcut ?

Maybe you have Preview Scaling or Proxy enabled (or both).
previewscal
proxy

These tools help a lot to reduce lagging when editing and previewing, but in the preview window, the video will look “rough”. If they are enabled, you can disable/reenable them when you want.

If you didn’t enable them, then you’ll need someone more competent to help you. And no worry, someone will. But to help them help you faster, please provide more informations:

• Your computer and it’s operating system.
  • What version of Shotcut do you use ?
  • Information about your original video : Size, and type (.mp4, .avi, .mov etc…)
  • The Video Mode you use in Shotcut (Settings > Video Mode)
  • And if possible, a screen capture of your entire Shotcut window would help also.

Converting to a user-friendly editing format helps to manipulate and edit the original video (in cell phone recordings the frame rate is variable and that is not very good for frame-by-frame editing).
So, converting to friendly editing and the proxy and preview scaling functions are solutions for different scenarios, but eventually all of them together will provide a better experience so that the video can be edited smoothly (forward and backward) and without lags.
About the audio, what happens? does it get choppy? is there background noise?