Exporting to HAP

hello everyone, I’m new to Shotcut, but I’m excited :slight_smile:
I’ve used AE and Final Cut so far but they have stopped supporting HAP
Shotcut very well imports and processes HAP files
my question is:
how to configure export to HAP and HAP Alpha format?

I found such help but I do not know how to set the program

https://hap.video/using-hap.html

thank you in advance for your help
(IMHO HAP edition is an opportunity to promote Shotcut)

Hi @Kris

I had never heard of HAP before you mentioned it here.
It turns out that SC will happily import and export HAP videos.

Took a 5 min video in h.264 (640 X 360) and imported it into SC, then exported as 1920 X 1080 in HAP
wrapped in a .mov container.
Pretty impressed with how nicely it scrubbs even though the resulting HAP video was exported at 115Mb/s.
Left the settings as they were but I’m sure by twiddling, one can favour either better quality or smaller file sizes.

EDIT:

Just loaded the HAP video into SMPlayer on a lowly Celeron 2.4GHz with 2GB RAM (running Debian) and I’m astounded at how smooth it plays and if I make big jumps forwards or backwards it’s instantaneous.
Absolutely briliant, considering that this little Celeron is playing a 1920 X 1080 115Mb/s video without even breaking a sweat.

@Paul2 I do not know what build you are using, but the official release builds provided by me do not include the hap codec. We would have to integrate another library that is not yet a priority for us.

@shotcut

It’s an old version that I have on a test computer I was setting up:

When I’m near a computer with a newer version, will check again, but if you say it’s not included, then it’s a bit of a mystery.
BTW, ffmpeg has support for HAP.

Yup, confirmed, checked on ver 18.12.23 (Windows box) and sure enough no HAP.
So it must have been dropped/forgotten about along the way?

From what I have seen, it’s a great codec, any chance of getting it back?