Exporting taking a very long time

Hello everyone!
I’m new to using Shotcut, and have been using YouTube to answer most of my questions, but now it’s time to export my video and it is taking a strangely long time.

My video is 6 minutes long and rendering is taking 42 minutes.

In my video, I’ve put together two video tracks, with a cross fade connecting them, and two audio tracks. I am also using some filters:
Fade in, fade out, adjusted contrast and saturation, adjusted volume levels. I used the “Mute” filter for the audio from the video, and am using a separate audio track (Thinking this would help things…correct me if this is wrong)

I’ve set to export at H.264 high profile (I need HD video for this project…is there another way to make sure it’s HD?)
1080x1920
Codec: Quality based VBR, 70% quality.

My computer is a Dell Inspiron,Core i3 processor, 8GB RAM

Any thoughts or suggestions on how I can make exporting faster?

Thank you thank you thank you!

Make sure your resolution is actually 1920x1080 (not 1080x1920).

I’m just a novice with this software. I’ve got an i7-7700k processor and for a 15 minute video (60fps, 12k bitrate) it takes me about 8 to 15 minutes. So depending on if you have anti-virus software enabled along with XBox DVR enabled to other conflicting software that eats up memory and cpu performance, I would say 42 minutes sounds right, based on the i3 processor.

Realize there are multiple generations (and models) of Intel i3 Processors out there from 5th gen to 8th gen all with different cores and specs. Then with Spectre and Meltdown patch fix’s/updates from Intel & Microsoft you could have the CPU that sees the 33% decrease in performance.

Hi Rachel! When you say that you need “HD video,” what exactly do you mean? Do you have the exact specs needed for the final result? (For instance, will you be uploading to YouTube?) Also, what are the specs of your source videos?