Crossfade breaks after adding zoom with keyframes

Hi everyone!
I am new to Shotcut - and video editing entirely, truth told. Watched a lot of video tutorials and thought I understood what to do to achieve my design, but apparently not.
I have a series of still images I am using to build a video. Each image has been set to 7 seconds.

I added two images - Image1 and image2 - and dragged image2 over the last two seconds of image1 to make a crossfade. That worked just like I wanted; nice, smooth transition from Image1 to Image2.

Then, I selected image1 and added two keyframes - first at 1 second and the next at the end. I set the end keyframe to 120% zoom, to make a subtle movement inward on the item in the image. Again, looks exactly how I want.

However, now the crossfade doesn’t work right. Image2 fades in on top of Image1, but Image1 does not fade out; it just blinks off at it’s end so that you see it clearly under Image2, until it suddenly disappears.

I tried adding the keyframe zoom to both segments before I dragged them together to make the crossfade, but it does the same thing.

I exported the video to see how it looks, and the problem I see inside Shotcut carries over into the mp4 file.

No idea what I’m doing wrong, and any suggestions would be sincerely appreciated

—A

Ok. So I found the Slideshow Generator since I posted and now have another problem.

The Slideshow works exactly like what I want, so YAY! But when I run the video, some of the images are cut off, before the gentle-zoom…like they’re cropped or already zoomed. They look fine in the thumbnail on the timeline. But the video preview has some images cut off or distorted.

It looks like maybe I need to use images that are all the same size (maybe?). My series has a mix of 360x480, 1280x960, 640x401 etc.

Is that my problem? And, how do I fix it?

Thanks once more in advance for your suggestions.

—A