Crash when opening audio/video device on macOS

Shotcut 20.2.17
Mac Mojave 10.14.6

Shotcut crashes when I try to open other Audio / Video device.

I’m new to shotcut; have read FAQ and also worked along with the entire first tutorial. This worked fine.

I was also able to import & edit files created in quicktime.

Now, I’m trying to record directly into Shotcut using a Logitech C270p USB camera. This is what I did:

Open Other > Audio/Video Device > select video and audio inputs. When I click OK, Shotcut crashes. “Shotcut Quit Unexpectedly” window opens with details log.

I tried selecting “built in camera” (with the USB camera UNPLUGGED), same results.

Tried deleting and downloading Shotcut again, same results.

Other selections from the “open other” window seem to work…I opened up “plasma” and “audio tone” just fine.

• Am I doing something wrong?

• I could not find a tutorial for recording directly into SHotcut. Does this exist?

• If this version of Shotcut doesnt work on my OS, how can I download an older version? I followed links to “older versions” but I’m afraid I do not know how to install from Github, and will need instructions. Is there an installer package somewhere?

thanks!

BTW, is is possible to edit my forum posts? I wrote “Shotput” instead of “Shotcut”. Sorry.

EDIT: figured out how to edit this post…sorry.

Sorry to hear about this, but I am not reproducing it also on macOS 10.14 using either devices built into MacBook or with a Logitech C920 USB webcam. You can use Quicktime Player to record from these devices, and then bring the media it creates into Shotcut.

No installer is needed. You simply go to the version you want, locate the shotcut…macos…dmg file and click it to download it. Then, install like a normal Shotcut install from DMG: drag-n-drop the app icon.

You should check macOS Settings > Security & Privacy to see if Shotcut has been denied access to the camera and microphone: