Color grading when using LUT's

This is more of a question about video editing in general than it is specific to Shotcut, so hopefully it’s ok to ask here. When color grading and using LUT’s, is it normal to go between those two filters and tweak each setting until you get the look that you want? My general philosophical approach is to use color grading to get my shadows, midtones and highlights in check, then apply a LUT to alter the color scheme. However, more and more, as I learn and get comfortable with color editing, I’m finding that I need to return to color grading to make some minor adjustments after a LUT has been added. Sometimes that’s just to bring a highlight down or a shadow up. Everyone probably has a slightly different approach to color adjustment, but I just wanted to see if I was on the right track. Obviously, I’m fairly new at this. :grinning:

2 Likes

You are correct. Many people do “lazy color grading.” They make initial edits on white balance and exposure, then just slap on a LUT, or not even make the initial edits at all. Not all shots are the same and each may need individual tweaking even after the LUT has been added. I’ve been known to apply the color grade filter 3 times on the same video file. Cheers!

Short version: Yes.

Long version: There are three general phases to color correction, and each phase can be implemented manually with filters or “automated” by a LUT:

• Conversion: for example, to take log footage and transform it into BT.709 color space

• Correction: for example, a camera-specific LUT that fixes known color discrepancies, or a manual filter to fix major exposure or white balance problems

• Style/Artistic: for example, to take corrected footage and then turn it all yellow to simulate golden hour