Color Bars not completely shown and destroyed by effects

Hello Shotcut Pros and Creators. Thank you for this fine software. I am new to this specific NLE and I am just trying to find my way round so perhaps I am getting it wrong but this seems like a bug to me:

Create SMPTE Color Bars and make a clip of the desired lenght to the playlist
Add that to the Timeline - most of the time only the lower part of the Color bars are shown
[Incomplete Color Bars]
(hxxps://www.dropbox.com/s/pmyu5p4pmxgoj3p/Shotcut%20Incomplete%20Color%20Bars.JPG?dl=0)
Can only post two links so replace xx with tt to get the link to the image…
Sometimes also they are not shown at all but a still image of the following shot
Wrong Preview
If I add a keyframing blur to the color bars the effect does not work as intended - each changing of the parameters seems only to increase the blur until the clip is totally black.
Destroyed Color Bars
This seems also to destroy the clip in the playlist - I can’t readd a unmodified new version of the bars…
I can Blur keyframe real video clips fine and there the effect works as advertised…

Is it just me?

Running on Shotcut 19.04.30

I managed to reproduce the malfunction of the color bars.
I read in Wikipedia that SMPTE is an NTSC pattern.
My default project is created at 1920 x 1080 25 fps.
I opened another (SMPTE color bars) dragged to playlist.
From the playlist, I dragged to timeline.
I changed the video mode to 29.97 fps and the problem disappeared.
After that, I couldn’t simulate the error again.

The color bars have always been a bit problematic. If you search the forum there are a number of threads about color bar issues

Tried different video modes with different color bars. All the bars are buggy. If the RS or S&P filter is applied the bars disappear

Workaround is to open the color bar in the viewer, export 1 frame and use that.

Correct, it is.
If the OP wants PAL, the EBU 100% bars should be chosen.