Best Linux ditro and configuration for video editing?

I am thinking of switching from my Windows 10 desktop to a Linux system.
Procesor: Intel Core i5-7400 CPU @ 3.00GHz 3.00 GHz
Ram: 16 GB
Grapthics: GeForce GTX 1060 3GB

So I heard that Nvidia graphic card might be a bit a problem for Linux. Would Debian be ok?

and another thing - what SWAP (or other partitions) is the best set up for video editing? Is the default installation ok? I would like my Linux to fully use the power of my PC.

If you could give ma any advice I would be greatfull.

Thank you.

Hi there. I have been using KDE Neon Linux for about three years now. I built a modest AMD Ryzen 3 1200 rig about 18 months ago and I have a very modest Nvidia GT-710. The big thing that makes this rig fly using Shotcut is the 250 GB NVMe M.2 main drive. I have never had Shotcut stutter editing HD mpeg files and the Nvidia card encodes H.264 about four times faster than the CPU. I have not had a problem with drivers. I always use the default recommended swap and with 16 GB RAM I haven’t really needed the swap. I most recently bought a 4 GB HDD for storing my current home video projects. HTH, -=Ken=-

1 Like

I had to find out which is faster, Linux or Windows with shotcut. I went to Distrowatch and downloaded the most popular distro of today. Which is MXlinux(debian freespin). Install was simple. Updated the MXlinux OS. Reboot. I use the Nvidia installer program that comes default with MXlinux. Reboot after the nvidia driver install. Downloaded the AppImage of shotcut from the shotcut website. chmod +x the Appimage file. Fired it up.

Conclusion Shotcut is 1 second faster on MXlinux. lol Hope that helps you. I’m using an RTX 2080 gpu

1 Like