Anyone sign up for the James Woo Shotcut Course?

Hi, newbie here and I was wondering if anyone has signed up to the James Woo course " Video Editing Made Easy With Shotcut Video Editor"?
It seems the Shotcut lead developer has reviewed it for accuracy and recommends it.

I was wondering if it’s good for a rookie, and I mean a complete video editor rookie, like me?!?

Thanks,
Steve in Central Vermont

I haven’t signed up, but it looks like quite a nice structured introduction to Shotcut. There are loads of free video tutorials around for Shotcut, but no series that is as well structured as this seems to be. At $29 it won’t break the bank and if you are not satisfied within 14 days James offers a refund.

I cannot say anything about the quality of this course but I was also a complete beginner when I started using Shotcut (I only used a video editor in 6th grade for very simple trimming and adding an audio track.). I recommend Mr. Eko’s tutorials on YouTube which helped me quite a lot at the beginning (https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLkBD4aaXW2ILnOZ-b2QUmwWcCGCuqRg_5). Later I just used the forum or other videos on YouTube and that worked for me.
If you think you understood the basics, you could try the tutorial series of jonray, a forum member, which introduces a plethora of techniques (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AhX5p_umORM).

To Elusion & samth, I decided to sign up for the videos. So far, I’m liking what I’m watching.
I did come across Mr. Eko’s tutorials and I’ll watch them too. I’m the kind of person that needs to watch several different videos just to get an idea of one thing that I’m trying to accomplish, especially if I’ve never done it before. And like I said in my original post, I am a COMPLETE newbie to this video editing stuff and some of it seems gibberish to me at first.
I’ll catch on eventually.
Thanks for the support and suggestions.

Steve

1 Like

That is good to hear.