4:3 to 16:9 (Without Pillar Boxing)

Hi,

Im a student applying for University applications. I have used shots in my showreel which were shot in 4:3 only camera type but while edit export I cropped top n bottom and made it 16:9 and this is the only format I have of it now.

My worry is,
(A) What could possibly the best professional and correct answer I can have for having a 4:3 shot footage as 16:9 without pillar boxes? (I have to made up a correct reverse methodology to tell them of my working process…as cropping is usually prohibited)
(B) Is 4:3 stretch is really acceptable in professional industry and an accepted practice?

Kindly help with this I am really nervous about the mistake I have done and looking for appropriate cover up that how come I have a footage shot in 4:3 but have final output as 16:9 without pillar boxing and cropping and distortion of framing.

Regards

Cropping it to 16:9 is sometimes done but it’s rarely ideal because you are removing picture information from the top and bottom. Many times it is left as is in 4:3 with the black on the left and right which isn’t actually a problem because not only is that how the image is naturally but you would have also have black on the top and bottom if the video is a really wide aspect ratio like 2.35:1 even if the screen is 16:9.

The other option is to replace the black parts with a blurred image of the 4:3 video. There is a filter in Shotcut that is made especially for this. It’s called Blur: Pad. Try it out and see if you like how it looks.