File > Save and Save As

shotcut
September 2, 2019

These actions save your project to a file format that is specific to Shotcut so you can resume editing at a later time. If you want to output a video (or audio only) file that plays in any other media player or to share use Export.

Save

shotcut_2020-08-06_08-24-51

Save As

Backup and Save

This is only available if you have already saved a project (“Untitled” does not appear in the window title bar). It first gets the last date and time the project file was modified. Then, it duplicates the current project file with a new name that ends with the date and time of last modification. Finally, it saves the changes.

This menu item was added in version 23.09.