Yellowing showing on white areas?

Hi All,

I am new to shotcut and started to use it last week, I am enjoying it so far and really loving its powerful features but I am having a little issue I don’t understand and I can’t find anyone else talking about.

I have loads of old VHS family videos from when I was a child that I am in the process of digitising and I plan to do the clean-up and editing of them all in Shotcut, but from doing a little test yesterday I found a strange issue that I was hoping someone might know the answer to before I really get into the editing process as it’s a bit of a showstopper for what I want to do.

Firstly - I am capturing the VHS videos outside of shortcut as 720p mpeg2 files, no issues here.

I open Shotcut and make a project, I drag my mpeg2 file into the playlist and then onto the time line for editing.

At this point, everything looks perfectly fine and I can playback the videos and they look as I expect them to.

Things seem to go wrong as soon as I apply ANY filter?

As they are old VHS videos I want to colour grade and also crop to remove the wobbly and black edges, this is my overall intention for filters, but as soon as I apply any of the filters, and I does not matter what filter I apply, I have tested just adding others one at a time and playing back the videos.

So what happens?

As this is old camera footage, some part of the video is very white in certain areas and overexposed and its these parts that start to acquire a yellow/green (however you see it) tinge and that continues in random white bits throughout the video and to the exported version if I export it.

I have tried exporting the video via shotcut to mp4 before I apply any filters and this looks fine and saves fine, but as soon as I add the newly saved mp4 to shotcut in a new project and start to apply ANY filter, the yellow/green parts on white return?

Does anyone have any ideas what the cause is?