Shotcut using 96% of the CPU when exporting (Ryzen 5 7600x)

Hello everyone.

So im new to Shotcut. When I export, Shotcut uses 95-96% of the processor power.
How can I lower this? I don’t mind it taking a bit longer but uses a bit less power. I’m afraid it will ruin my processor when it uses that much power for like 30-40 min in one go and also it makes it harder to do something else while I export. Plus the processor goes up to 95C directly (which it’s supposed to acording to AMD, but im still a bit worried about that heat for so long).

I don’t use Hardware acceleration (which lowers the processor usage) because i’ve found that everytime I use it - my videos come out laggy for some reason.

I use either paralell processing or just without it as well. It’s the same thing with both.

I have tried lower the priority of the Melt.exe and Shotcut.exe, but it doesn’t make a difference.

Can anyone help?

Thank you.

1 Like

If you’re on Windows: open task manager, go to the Details tab, right click on melt.exe (during an export job) and select Set Affinity. You can now disable various cores so if you deselect half of them it will only use up to 50% of your CPU.

I don’t know if you need to do this every export, I assume so.

1 Like

Hello. Thank you. I will try that. But it doesn’t hurt the processor or anything like that doing that?

I don’t think using the cpu (or even a single core) at 100% can damage it, only heat can cause problems (in extreme cases and long run - think months) and the cpu is automatically throttled anyway to keep it under some maximum temperatures (95-105*C).

But of course I can’t be completely sure about your system. I wouldn’t worry at all for 100% usage over a few hours now and then, after all while playing modern games it’s most likely you are doing 100% of CPU+GPU for quite some time with no issues.