Im using Shotcut 18.01 on Windows 7 64 bit machine. You put two clips on timeline next to each other. When you slow down first clip, shotcut overwrites corresponding part of following clip. So if you dont want to overwrite you have to shift clips manually first. My suggestion is to shift clips instead of overwrite.
Thank you guys