My first big project: 1998 in Games

“1998: Why it’s (probably) the Greatest Year Ever in video games” - https://youtu.be/O8ycs2bqa1s

Hey, here’s a thing I made! I just launched my first video on a new channel I’m starting about video games through the ages, and my first project is about the year 1998 and why it’s such a stand-out year for gaming.
I made it almost entirely in Shotcut, about 90-95% I would say. Did some of the earliest chapters on another, much more limited program (despite not being free…) before discovering Shotcut, which I find much easier to use and just all-round excellent in most aspects. Though for some of the bottom-thirds and other text (game titles mainly) I used different software which had some pretty good text-presets. I could’ve possibly gotten the same results on Shotcut but decided to go the easy route, since the other editor had a large variety of text styles, animations, etc. and I knew that would work.

I should add also that I’m still learning alot, not just about video editing but especially narration and audio mixing…so apologies for some poor audio quality in parts, I need to get a new mic, and just git gud at audio I guess :wink:

Anyway, if you’re into retro games or gaming history then this might be up your alley. Hope you enjoy and feel free to give my any pointers.

(also if you’re wondering, its all 720p because I simply need to upgrade my hardware situation, new hard drives, graphics cards etc…but not in a great financial situation atm. Planning to fix those issues as soon as possible)

4 Likes

My, oh my… What an impressive piece of work.
I’m only at the 20 minute mark, but I think I’ve seen enough to be able to give a first impressions of your video.