Introducing Myself & Offering my services to the Project

Hi all Shotcut users!

My name is Giacomo, I’m a passionate developer from Italy!

At the moment I’m attending a VFX Course and I definitely think of myself as a wannabe VFX and 3D Artist!

I’m also a developer, I maily do web stuff as my main job, but I’m currenly starting to switch to something more 3D/VFXish, since I think it is waaaay more interesting and challenging!

Simply put, I’d like to mix my development and artistic skills, and one of the best way to do that is to code or contribute to the tool you use everyday!

I mainly use Linux, and I stumbled upon SC when I decided I wanted to switch to my Linux box for everything,Video Editing included. Suddently I realized SC was the software I wanted to start using and contributing to, because it’s cross platform, DE independent, based on Qt & C++, backed by MLT (which bakes also all the other free and open source Video Editors out there), with a clear vision for the future and loved by almost everyone in the community.

So here I am, a wannabe VFX artist/Video Editor and developer willing to help the cause of creating the best Video Editor software for the FOSS Community out there!

I’d like to start making my hands dirty on something, is there anything/anywhere I can start from? Do you have something like a “Quick Fix” section or “Fast TODO” list? In other words, how can I start helping you out?

I hope to find a very kind place to work in and contribute to!

best,
Giacomo

Hi @giacomoalbe,
There is a list of “Quick Tasks To do” on the roadmap page:
https://shotcut.org/roadmap/

Also, you could search the forums for bugs in the “bug” topic and see if you can help figure them out:
https://forum.shotcut.org/c/bug

Great to hear you’re keen to pitch in, thanks. I wish I had the skills to contribute. How many people are working on Shotcut at the moment?

Hi @brian,

Thank you for the fast reply!