Importing .jpg files gives default duration of 4 hours

Hi,
I’m new to ShotCut. I’m using Win 7 x64 and Shotcut 64bit v17.09.04

I have been trying to import still images in .jpg format to SC. The import works, except that the default length of the imported still appears to be 4 hours, not 4 seconds that I would have expected. (It takes ages to import the file)

I have tried setting the length of the clip to say 6 seconds in the properties window for the jpg, and then clicking the ‘Set Default’ button, however when I import a new jpg file it is only the selected clip length that changes to 6 seconds. The source window still shows the clip total length as being 4 hours.

I’m not sure if this is a bug or something I’m doing wrong. I’ve attached a snip of the screen showing the relevant details.
Many thanks.

Properties window of the same image.

I find setting the default slide duration can be a little tricky. Try this video tutorial. He mentions that the first slide import may take awhile.

-=Ken=-

Hi, Thanks for your reply and link. I watched the video.

When he imports the first clip it defaults to 5 seconds total length. Mine shows as 4 hours!
He then changes the default length to 3 seconds and imports a new clip. If I do this, the new clip still shows total length of 4 hours, but it also has a selected length (an in and out) of 3 seconds. So the total length of the imported clip doesn’t seem to be affected by the default length I’ve chosen.

This feels like a bug to me. Like 4 hours has been put in an .ini/registry setting somewhere rather than 4 seconds.

Hi MrEyesOpen,
Yes, I get that too, and was just about to post a comment on it here. Also, the timecode begins counting up. I just made a short video (screen capture) to illustrate this. I imported a .png. The timecode stops when you hit space.
I too wondered if it was a bug? I’m actually using 17.08.01 (tried 17.09.04 but playback was choppy so I reverted back to 17.08).
https://streamable.com/5ehl9