Fade-Out works in preview but not after export?

I am new to using Shotcut, and found it quicker to get the job done than OpenShot. I have about 3 clips in a single track, with a Fade-In and Fade-Out filter on each clip. Everything plays great in the preview window. Unfortunately, when I export the video (default 264 profile), the fade-in form black is not working correctly. I get a basically frames (a bit translucent) and then suddenly the video is visible. No nice even fade-in :frowning:. Fade-Out works perfectly.

System: Win10 / Shotcut version 20.02.17

I tried many things to correct including:

1. delete and then re-add the filter clip
  2. manually create the fade-in (left click throbber?)
  3. Added filter at “Master” level"
  4. start a new project
  5. export to other formats
  6. Hardware encode on as well as off

In all cases, the resulting video file has the same issue. Basically black until past the 1sec filter. no fade-in. Very discouraging.

Can any one help me figure out how to get a simple Fade-In to work? Seems so basic but I am failing.
Insights appreciated!!

I do not reproduce a problem here, and you have not really provided any steps.

How can you see “translucent?”

Show a screenshot of a clip having the problem selected and the filters and keyframes panel.
Or attach your project file.

Kind of hard to to show as in the software it plays fine. After encoding is the problem.
Here is the encoding selections.

encoded file is available here

What I have now found is the “default” export from Shotcut does not play correctly in Win10 Media Player (on my laptop), but plays correctly using VLC.

Any hints how to troubleshoot encoding settings from shotcut would be appreciated.

encoded file is available here

I uploaded here, where it will play in your browser.

I do not see a problem with it. Either you are having a problem with your players, or you are confused about something.