Beginner questions (I have watched tutorials and read in forum)

Hello good helpers in the Shotcut-forum

I am a beginner in editing video - and obviously with this program. I have watched several tutorials and read some posts in this forum.

It can be tricky though, to find out and search for exactly how to do “things”/apply the tools described in the mentioned videos and posts. Therefore these questions:

1. I have a long video that is split in two parts when transferred from camera to pc. When I place them after one on the timeline, there is a black spot in between the tracks both when played in the program and exported. I’ve been told from someone using another program (well this is how I remember it told) that a folder with both files were imported to the program to avoid this gap. Is that possible in this program? Or if not, is there another suggestion?

2. I have a separate audio track to the video(s), and I find it hard to get it quite right with cutting. To be honest, I haven’t tried that much, but just to get started seems difficult even with slow motion - when I don’t know how to use the sound waves, etc. So I thought it must be an easier way to synchronize to sound … In the forum I can see that http://auxmic.com/ is suggested to help. Does anybody know this? If yes: How is the sound from the video file and audio file synchronized in this tool? The audio is obviously the one to be used … Will the output be a video the good/right sound be saved? (So that I can start cutting and editing the video without having to be bothered with the sound issue).

Kindly regards,

Ingunn

For 1):

Make sure that snapping is set (the magnet icon on the timeline toolbar) then positioning one clip close to another should cause them to snap together.

Or select the gap and then delete it.

There are other ways as well when adding clips.

1 Like

Additionally to Elusien’s tip, go to the end of the first clip and look at each frame moving backwards, some might be black.